Combining Scrapbook Layouts and Project Life Offers The Best of Both Worlds

Recently I tackled an envelope bursting with photos from my daughter’s Senior Prom.  I had been avoiding this envelope intentionally due to sheer volume of photos that I knew were in that envelope. (I might have gone just a little overboard on taking pictures but I couldn’t help myself. Her and her friends looked so beautiful!!)

Once I came up with a plan, going through the photos was not as bad as I had imagined. I divided the photos into two piles – one for scrapbook layouts, the other for Project Life pages.  At the the same time, I tossed the bad ones and pulled out any duplicates of photos that I planned to use on scrapbook layouts from the pocket page pile and moved them to my daughter’s photo box. Sort, organize, purge – check. On to the fun part!

The following is what transpired in one afternoon when I put my mind to getting these pictures scrapbooked. It was fun going back to my scrapbooking roots to create traditional scrapbook pages for the special photos. Using Project Life cards from my physical Becky Higgins and Studio Calico kits was equally as fun because some of them were spot-on for these photos.

Combining scrapbook layouts and Project Life offers the best of worlds. I love being able to use my supply stash to create scrapbook layouts that highlight the stand-out photos. I then use Project Life layouts to group similar photos together to create a visual story of the moment captured–minus the fuss.

Now that Senior Prom is done, I’m ready to tackle Junior Prom the same way. By the way, this daughter just turned 21 so clearly it’s time to take care of business and get these photos scrapbooked and into her album.

Turning a mess of photos into something meaningful is memory keeping at its’ best and so very satisfying!

Until next time,

Blog Sig Black

 

Leave a Reply

