Studio Calico Wood Veneers Are The Perfect Project Life Embellishment

Psssst… I have a secret to share. I have a new love in my life. My new love affair is with Studio Calico Wood Veneers. Have you seen these cute little things?!? From the moment I saw them online in The Underground Papercrafting Kits at Studio Calico, I knew I had to have them! These wood veneers come in endless varieties, shapes, sizes and themes which means endless creative possibilities for me! Perhaps the biggest reason I am so drawn to them is the simplicity in their design. They are extremely neutral and in turn extremely versatile. You can use them as is, or dress them up a bit with milk paint, wood stain or glitter. Dressed up or down, Studio Calico wood veneers are the perfect Project Life embellishment. From alphas to numbers to hearts to stars…oh my! With so many choices, I foresee embellishing many of my future papercrafting projects with Studio Calico wood veneer shapes.

I had to have them  and so I set off to Jo-Ann’s for my quest. It was my lucky day. They had a nice selection of wood veneers to choose from. I could have bought them all and I couldn’t buy just one so (this time) I chose Studio Calico Wood Veneer Hearts and Arrows, because hearts and arrows go with EVERYTHING, and Studio Calico Wood Veneer Circles With Words, because they were adorable and I could use them on just about any project I create. I cannot wait to add more wood veneer designs to my scrapbooking arsenal. To me, they seem timeless not trendy. I don’t see how these could ever go out of style.

SC Wood Veneers Collage

 Studio Calico Wood Veneers are the Little Black Dress for my Project Life.

Studio Calico wood veneers are the perfect accent for Project Life journal cards and add just the right amount of detail to Project Life layouts. Project Life layouts do not require a ton of embellishments. The true beauty of Project Life is in its simplicity. With that said, I do like to “dress up” my Project Life journal cards from time to time, adding little details to give them a little pop and life of their own. Yes indeed, Studio Calico Wood Veneers are the little black dress for my Project Life.

Here are my first two Project Life layouts featuring the wood veneer shapes that I purchased. The wood veneer hearts,  arrows, and circles with words are the cherry on top  – they were the last embellishment to go on and made my layouts complete. Sometimes keeping it simple is just what my photo stories need and these wood veneer shapes make that possible. They truly are a perfect simple embellishment!

Project Life LO with Studio Calico wood veneer shapes Project Life LO with SC Wood Veneer Heart

Even though I used my new Studio Calico Wood Veneers in Project Life layouts, I think they would be magnificent on just about any papercrafting project! I cannot wait to find out…

Until next time,

Blog Sig Black

Leave a Reply

